Octopus Project Press Photo Spring 2017.jpg

$12 advance / $14 day of show
9pm doors
9:30 show


Austin's favorite experimental pop band, The Octopus Project, returned with their 6th studio album, Memory Mirror, in March 2017. The album was recorded by the band, mixed by Danny Reisch (Shearwater, White Denim) & Dave Fridmann (Tame Impala, Flaming Lips), and mastered by Greg Calbi (David Bowie, Talking Heads).

The Octopus Project has been releasing joyous party music since 2002, following a musical path that veers through blown-out rock’n’roll, vivid electronic colors, surreal pop and expansive psych landscapes. As performers they’ve earned a reputation for elaborate multimedia experiments and extremely loud, extremely fun live shows - a practice they’ve pursued over a decade of worldwide touring that has included festival stages such as Coachella, Lollapalooza and All Tomorrow’s Parties, and tours as handpicked support for artists as diverse as Aesop Rock, DEVO, and Explosions in the Sky.

Also active as composers for video games and film, they were awarded the Special Jury Award for Musical Score at the 2014 Sundance Film Festival for their work on the film KUMIKO, THE TREASURE HUNTER. They are currently working on another film score to be released in 2018 -- DAMSEL (directed by Zellner Bros. // starring Robert Pattinson & Mia Wasikowska).


New Fumes is Daniel Huffman from Dallas, TX. A noise musician and visual artist, Huffman has lent his talents to a multitude of diverse bands. He was a member of the 90s space rock outfit Comet as well as the Bitches Brew-loving improv group Ghostcar, and was a touring guitarist for the Polyphonic Spree, and TOBACCO. He’s been part of the touring entourage for and a collaborator with the Flaming Lips, and performed with them when they broke the Guiness World Record for most shows played in a 24 hour period.

Huffman also creates some of the most gorgeous vinyl records on the planet by coming up with is own process for pouring records by mixing colors so each piece is an individual with its own effect.

“Teeming 2” is the sophomore album from New Fumes. It falls somewhere in the zones of offbeat electronic and colorful weirdo rock. Mostly recorded in a Monolithic Dome surrounded by crack houses in Dallas, Huffman spent five years recording his new album.   In New Fumes’ words “To me, Teeming 2 is a marriage of analog and digital worlds. A tuneful collage of gooey nature and rigid machines, where voices seamlessly become synthesizers, become guitars, becomes orchestras, and back again.

The lyrics contain fragments of real life stories and apocalyptic dreams, blended together in much the same way as the sounds on the record. The intent is to take the listener on an unsettling, yet, not humorless or depressing , journey through a rich, subconscious world , teeming with sounds and visions.”

“Teeming 2” features Wayne Coyne of The Flaming Lips and members of Def Rain.